A/R : NPP Parliamentary Primaries, 3 candidates go unopposed

Source: Tvnewsgh.com | Akua-Piesie Asare Bediako

Only three Parliamentary Aspirants were able to picked and filed their nomination forms to contest the parliamentary primaries of the npp in Ashanti Region after the close of the nominations.

These candidates are Hon. Joseph Owusu (Odenkyem) DCE of Sekyere Afram Plains, Hon Salisu Bamba MCE Ejura Sekyeredumas and Hon. Alidu Seidu MCE Asakore Mampong.

No other contestants are fighting them over the seats and it gives them the edge to go unopposed in the NPP’s upcoming parliamentary primaries.

It was emerged that some candidates have also picked and filed their nominations to contest particularly at Asawase and Ejura Sekyereduamsi.

But in a statement sighted by TVNEWSGH.COM from the party regional office noted that the only three candidates have been able to picked and filed their nominations successfully to go unopposed in these three constituencies.

The NPP have only three Orphan Constituencies in the Ashanti Region which they are working harder to capture those seats from the NDC.

READ:  Black Stars face Bafana Bafana today

The party with its regional chairman wontumi have launched operation 47/47 in their quest to win all the seats in the Region

It can recalled that the Ashanti Regional NPP Executive Committee was resolved to allow only MDCEs of the Orphan constituencies to contest in the party’s upcoming parliamentary primaries on 29th July, 2019 the committee held an extensive meeting to deliberate on the matter.

According to the Committee, it will help them wrestle power from the NDC.

In a resolution after the meeting which was signed by the regional secretary of the party Mr. Sam Pyne warned any body who flouts this directive will find himself or herself wanting.

We published details of the resolution


At a meeting of the Regional Executive Committee of the party held on Monday, 29th July, 2019, the Regional Executive Committee (REC), after thorough and exhaustive deliberations, have unanimously declared that, the three(3) Orphan Constituencies in the region shall sponsor the candidatures of Hon. Alidu Seidu, MCE- Asokore Mampong, Hon. Salisu Bamba, MCE – Ejura Sekyeredumasi and Hon. Joseph Owusu, DCE – Sekyere Afram Plains as sole candidates for the Asawasi, Ejura Sekyeredumasi and Sekyere Afram Plains respectively.

READ:  President Akufo-Addo to deliver address in Switzerland

This action is in line with the party’s strategy to annex these three (3) constituencies.
The party is resolved to make sure that, all other actions are in tune with Article 12,(I) of the party’s constitution and all party members are enjoined to abide by this resolution.
Party members who flout this directive shall be sanctioned according to the rules and regulations of the party’s constitution.

Samuel Pyne
(Regional Secretary)
Dated: 29th July, 2019

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button